The Mariana Trench is the deepest point on Earth

Information about its origins and the establishment of the European Union

 First European Community On April 18, 1951, six European countries - France, Germany, Belgium, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and Italy - agreed to form the European Coal and Steel Group, which will form the nucleus of the European Economic Community and the European Union.
The EU describes itself as a gathering of European democratic nations committed to working together for peace and prosperity
The European Union oversees cooperation among its member states in several areas, including trade, environment, transport, labor and others.

On May 1, 2004, NATO welcomed the accession of 10 new members, most of them members of the former socialist bloc, in an important step towards the elimination of the division that took place on the continent after the Second World War.
On 25 March 1957, the States signed the Rome Agreement, which expanded the areas of cooperation, and the Group became the European Economic Community.
On February 7, 1992, the Treaty of Maastricht was signed in Hulanda, whereby the various European bodies were grouped into one framework, the European Union, which became the official name of the group.

Official Headquarters:
Brussels, the capital of Brussels, is the permanent seat of its General Secretariat, the European Commission and the French city of Strasbourg, home to its European Parliament.
Presidency of the Union:
The European Union is subject to a rotating presidency, with member states rotating for six months, while Jose Manuel Barroso heads the Portuguese Commission.

Member States:
The federation began in 1951 with six countries - France, Germany, Belgium, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and Italy.
In 1973 it was joined by the United Kingdom, Denmark, Greece in 1981, Spain and Portugal in 1986, Ireland in 1993, Sweden, Finland and Austria in 1995.

Since 2004, the European Union has expanded to Eastern European countries after the collapse of the Soviet Union. Ten new countries - Estonia, Poland, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Latvia, Lithuania and Hungary - joined Cyprus and Malta this year.
In 2007, Romania and Bulgaria joined the EU to 27.